About Portugal

Medieval castles, cobblestone villages, captivating cities, golden-sand beaches, beautiful landscapes and wildlife areas: the Portugal experience can mean many things. History, great food and wine, idyllic scenery, nice and friendly hosting and lots of sunshine are just the beginning…

The country is divided in 8 main tourism regions: Porto e Norte, Região Centro, Região de Lisboa, Alentejo, Algarve, Azores and Madeira. Know more about each one here.

More about Portugal in www.visitportugal.com


General Information

Capital: Lisboa
Area: 92 072 km²
Population: 10,6 milhões de habitantes
Currency: Euro €
Member of the European Union since 1986
National Emergency Number: 112